Today is Bell Let’s Talk Day and I published this personal reflection on social media to encourage a more open dialogue about the topics of mental health and emotional wellbeing.

There have been so many times in the past where I felt stuck and didn’t reach out for help. I didn’t know who to go to. Oftentimes I wasn’t even clear on what my problem was. I didn’t know what I needed.

That uncertainty led me to worry that there might not be a solution. Or worse, that I’d eventually open up and uncover something really ugly and upsetting that I didn’t know was inside me.

Both outcomes seemed too embarrassing and too exhausting to fathom. Both were based on the assumption that there was something seriously wrong with me.

What I have discovered through my own personal experience, though, is that talking to someone about what we are being challenged by can be transformational. It can save us years of time spent spinning our wheels, and can help us uncover a path forward so that we can channel our energy more naturally and productively.

I remember when I was living in Toronto in 2013, I was going through a really hard time emotionally. When I finally started to open up about it, I was amazed by how much of the pressure and tension and anxiety just dissolved. I was left with some interesting emotional patterns and core beliefs that I was able to work with and make sense of.

It’s #BellLetsTalk day today and I invite you to reach out to me if you’d like someone to connect with.

We can all bring a bit more consciousness, empathy and patience to our conversations today. Reach out and ask for a listening ear, and do your best to hold space for others who may choose to reach out to you.

Finally, here is an article I wrote on Generous Listening that you might find useful, today and beyond.

Stay curious,

Ed

Ed Blunderfield @iamedwardmjb