The energy created when we release expectations

Last week Peter, a client of mine, shared a beautiful insight.

“I feel most powerful when I allow myself to visualize the greatest possibility I can imagine for my work or my projects, while releasing any attachment I might have to it happening.”

I smiled. I felt my heart expand.

Tell me more, I said.

“I fully play out the ultimate dream in my mind, I really feel into it, and then once I am able to experience it internally, I fully release the need for it to happen.“

Peter paused and looked at me through his webcam, relaxed, with a playful smile on his face.

“This allows me to operate from a place of freedom where my worth is not related to whether reality plays out as I had envisioned in my head.“

“I am less fearful of failure. I am able to channel my energy and creativity and go for what I really want.”

This is the attitude he had when he left his high-paying, full-time job in the middle of a global pandemic… without another job lined up.

This is the attitude he had when he co-created a brand new leadership role with the CEO at one of the fastest growing tech startups in Vancouver, shortly after.

This is the attitude that will make the rest of his life so much more fun, joyful and adventurous.‍

“Serenity comes when you trade expectations for acceptance.”

— Gautama Buddha

Ed Blunderfield @iamedwardmjb